Mended

All week I can’t seem to get the song “Mended” by Matthew West out of my head. I heard it on Monday on my daily commute to work. I thought it was very fitting for my husband Phillip’ s sermon from Sunday about being healing and restored. While his words were impactful and they spoke to me, the connect for me really hits home with music. Music has a way of speaking to me as if God has artists write songs just for me. While I know that isn’t true because Christian music speaks to hundreds, thousands, and even millions; I can still find it special and relevant to me.

There have been times in my life, one in particular, where I have had my spirit and my life broken beyond repair. I’m incredibly grateful and humbled that grace and forgiveness was extended by everyone but most importantly by Jesus Christ.

So often we think we are not deserving of the grace and forgiveness Jesus has to offer, but that is what Jesus came and died for over 2000 years ago. He died for our sins, not just the sins, but the weight and burden of them. I believe the first step of being “mended” and allowing His grace flow through us is to admit that we are broken and acknowledge that he can mend us. His grace, love, and mercy are abundant. I’m so grateful of the reminder!

I’d like to share both the lyrics and audio of the song. I believe Matthew West says it better than I can . . . .as Jesus’s song to us:

 

“Mended”

When you see broken beyond repair
I see healing beyond belief
When you see too far gone
I see one step away from homeHow many times can one heart break?
It was never supposed to be this way
Look in the mirror, but you find someone you never thought you’d be

Oh, but I can still recognize
The one I love in your tear stained eyes
I know you might not see him now, so lift your eyes to me

When you see broken beyond repair
I see healing beyond belief
When you see too far gone
I see one step away from home

When you see nothing but damaged goods
I see something good in the making
I’m not finished yet
When you see wounded, I see mended

You see your worst mistake
But I see the price I paid
And there’s nothing you could ever do, to lose what grace has won

So hold on, it’s not the end
No, this is where love’s work begins
I’m making all things new
And I will make a miracle of you

When you see broken beyond repair
I see healing beyond belief
When you see too far gone
I see one step away from home

When you see nothing but damaged goods
I see something good in the making
I’m not finished yet
When you see wounded, I see mended

I see my child, my beloved
The new creation you’re becoming
You see the scars from when you fell
But I see the stories they will tell

You see worthless, I see priceless
You see pain, but I see a purpose
You see unworthy, undeserving
But I see you through eyes of mercy

When you see broken beyond repair
I see healing beyond belief
You’re not too far gone
You’re one step away from home

When you see nothing but damaged goods
I see something good in the making
I’m not finished yet, no
When you see wounded, I see mended

Ooh, I see mended
Woah, oh I see mended
I’m not finished yet
When you see wounded, I see mended

 

Just know His grace and mercy are available and the quota never ends. Free Refills all the time. 😉
Author:

I'm a far from perfection perfectionist serving a perfect Jesus. I'm a pastor's wife, mom of two children, and a full-time career woman. I love volunteering and socializing. Pearls, diamonds, sequins, dresses, leggings, jeans, t-shirts, pajama pants, boots, and flip flops are some of my favorite things in my closet! I love most things vintage and I'm a self-described "old soul". My blog will serve mostly as an outlet to share what's on my heart and mind. However, there will be times I'll keep it lighthearted and fun with information on craft projects, fun social events, interesting facts, and entertaining. As a Southern woman, I love good food and good times with friends and family!

Leave a Reply

